Football here, Football there, Football everywhere…

Since being in Korea I’ve gone to a total of  5 football games.  If you’re American and reading this you might be a little confused.  The rest of the world calls this game football, and sometimes “the football”, while we have called it soccer, for some odd reason.  We’re the only ones who do so.  We’re also the only country, besides maybe Canada that isn’t obsessed with it.  We all know what Canada is obsessed about….

The fans they give you....I lurve them.

I’d never been a fan of football, American Football, oh hell yes….But I just didn’t care about soccer….I didn’t even realize the US had a Major League Soccer until I moved to Korea.  As I’ve said in GOOOOAAAALLLL it only took a couple minutes for me to jump on the football wagon.

Well, and if truth be told, another reason I started “liking” football was to get “someone” to talk to me…..Hey! It worked.  Silly Englishmen.

A giant chicken!!

But enough of that…..On with the football.     My favorite game so far was the international game between Korea and Poland.  There was a lot more people in the stadium, and Polish flags were flying.  I was stunned to see so many Polish supporters in Korea.  Where did they come from? Do they live here? Craziness.  Of course Korea won, and even though it was just a “friendly” it was still exciting.  And no, I’m still not 100% sure what a “friendly” game means.  I think it’s like a non-conference game.  IDK, I like to learn, but I also just like going and cheering and having fun.

I’m trying to learn, I think it may take awhile.  But I do know what a “hat trick” is and I know that the field is called the pitch.  I’d say that’s pretty good for an American.

The mega fans.

 

And if a sport can get me, of all people to wear red on a game day, it’s managed quite the feat.   I’ve even picked a team in the Premier League….Their colors are blue and white, and their seal has spurs on it……..Of course I picked that team…….More like had to pick them….More on that later……

 

From Korea, with love.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment