Weekend of Firsts

It’s Chuseok weekend.  Korea’s version of the American Thanksgiving.  Where they gather with their families and pay respects to their ancestors…To foreigners this means a few days off work!!  This is my Chuseok Story.

I wake up at 7:30am Saturday morning, having gone to bed just 5 hours prior.  “What am I doing?” I ask myself…Going off on a weekend trip with 2 people I barely know.  It reminds me of a spring break long ago, where memories still warm my heart, so I shower, put on my backpack and head towards to the subway……An adventure is waiting…….

A few transfers later I am in the train station, searching for my new friends. They are waiting in a jewish sandwich shop, that serves bacon…Have I mentioned I love Korea….

Anyway, after a quick breakfast, Jordan(AKA Mr. Rogers or Mobs. I like to nickname people) distributes the $9 standing-room-only tickets.  I then learn that for about 50 cents more we could have had seats.  I’m sure I give him my best “WTF Brooke face”.  He assures me that there is a dining car and we’ll sit there.  Tina, who made up this threesome just looks on with a toothy grin…

We  proceed to get in line, the only waygookins in sight.  I am approached by a non-Korean couple, they ask if we are going to the DMZ.  They are from SE Asia somewhere and speak impeccable English.  No matter where I am people to walk up and chat…Must be the okie smile.  Jordan sees that the line is moving and we are hustled outside to the terminal.  I am about to board my first real train.

With a swoosh of air, the train for Boryeong arrives…WEEE I’m on a train!  We push and shove our way towards the – existent dining car……But find space in the little area where the train cars meet, I assume this is called the joints. So we claim some steps and feel the train begin to move!  I look up at the window and see buildings zooming by in a blurry haze.  After a few minutes the colors of the haze change from a beige-gray to greens and blues.  We have left the city, I am now in the countryside of Korea…

Somewhere between Seoul and Boryeong

 While standing and sometimes sitting in the  un air-conditioned joint area of a train car, where your nose is assaulted with brake dust and ajummas grace you with disapproving stares, it really wasn’t all that bad.  I did witness some hilarious scenery.

Glorious shoes worn by a twentysomething Korean male...

 

Welcome to Sillyewon.....What??

 
 
 
 
First train ride…Success!!
 
First time letting a man decide on what tickets to buy….
 
Stay tuned for Part 2….
accommodations and naked mud spas…
 
 

Leave a comment